Tesco Retail Graduate Scheme in the UK: Three Years Across Stores, Distribution and Head Office
Tesco is offering graduates a three-year Retail Graduate Scheme across the United Kingdom, with a salary of £33,500. It is built for people who want to learn how a large supermarket business works from the inside, starting on the shop floor and finishing with the skills needed to run a store.
One point needs to be clear right away. This is a UK-based role, and the official page does not state visa sponsorship, so applicants should not assume sponsorship is offered. If you can already work in the UK and want a retail management career, this scheme is worth a serious look.
At a glance
| Organisation | Tesco UK |
| Programme | Retail Graduate Scheme (three years) |
| Location | Nationwide, United Kingdom |
| Salary | £33,500 |
| Qualification needed | Predicted or achieved 2:2 degree |
| Programme start | 6 September |
| Apply by | 22 December |
What the three years actually involve
The programme starts in stores. You spend time in small and large stores, learning the departments, daily routines and processes that keep a shop running. This is hands-on work, dealing with real customers, colleagues and problems from the first weeks.
After that grounding, the programme widens. You take on leadership training, get a mentor, and take your first leadership responsibility. Later placements take you beyond stores into a Distribution Centre (DC) or a Customer Fulfilment Centre (CFC), plus a head office project. A DC is a large warehouse moving products to stores, while a CFC prepares online grocery orders, so you see the side of the business shoppers never see.
The programme has three roles in total, each one placing you in a store, DC or CFC chosen to stretch your development. One practical point: you might need to relocate after six months, and again after your first year. That suits people who are flexible about where they live.
Pay and benefits in plain terms
The salary is £33,500, a solid graduate starting salary for a role based across the UK. Store placements can be anywhere in the country, so living costs will depend on where you are placed, and relocating may add moving costs worth planning for.
Beyond the salary, the official page lists several benefits. There is an annual bonus scheme worth up to 10% of base salary, though it is not guaranteed. Holiday starts at 25 days plus a personal day, plus bank holidays, and the package includes a free 24/7 virtual GP service and an Employee Assistance Programme (EAP) for you and your family. Family leave is generous too: 26 weeks of maternity or adoption leave at full pay after one year of service, then 13 weeks of statutory pay, plus six weeks of fully paid paternity leave.
Check yourself before you apply
The only academic requirement stated on the official page is a predicted or achieved 2:2 degree, and no specific subject is named. Tesco says it is looking for future leaders who are curious, brave in applying ideas, and keen to build the skills to help run the business.
You are a strong fit if you:
- Enjoy working with people and leading a team, not just working alone
- Are happy to be on your feet in stores and warehouses, not only in an office
- Can relocate during the programme if your next placement is elsewhere
- Want a store management career rather than a head office desk job
Be honest with yourself about who should not apply. If you cannot relocate, or you want a single fixed office location, this programme will frustrate you. If managing people and solving daily operational problems does not appeal to you, the store leadership path will feel like the wrong job. And if you need visa sponsorship to work in the UK, note again that the official page does not mention it.
How to apply
Applications are made through the official Tesco careers page, linked through the application button below. Before you apply, re-read the full official listing and check you meet the degree requirement and accept nationwide placements and possible relocation. Apply well before the closing date of 22 December, since no extension is stated.
When you apply, show what Tesco says it wants: curiosity, courage in applying ideas, and a people-first attitude. Give examples from work, volunteering or study where you led others or improved something for customers. Retail experience is not stated as a requirement, so part-time shop work and team projects count as useful evidence.
What happens after the programme
The stated end goal is clear: by the end of the programme you should have the skills and knowledge to become a store manager, a real management job responsible for a whole store, its team and its customers. Tesco says the journey does not stop there, and that the role gives a foundation to move towards senior leadership. Store managers learn budgeting, staffing, stock and customer service all at once, so the skills transfer across the wider company. Similar structured schemes, such as the LSEG Engineering Graduate Programme and the Ryanair Grad Programme, can lead to lasting careers, though each suits a different kind of person.
Questions applicants usually ask
Q: What degree do I need?
A: A predicted or achieved 2:2 degree. No specific degree subject is stated.
Q: Where will I be based during the programme?
A: Placements are nationwide, covering Express and Extra stores, a Distribution Centre or Customer Fulfilment Centre, and a head office project. You might need to relocate after six months, and again after your first year.
Q: What is the salary?
A: £33,500, with an annual bonus scheme of up to 10% of base salary.
Q: Does Tesco offer visa sponsorship for this scheme?
A: The official page does not state visa sponsorship, so applicants should not assume it is offered.
Q: What job can I get after finishing the programme?
A: The programme is designed to prepare you to become a store manager, and Tesco says that role gives a foundation to progress towards senior leadership.




